English director Stephen Frears to receive the 2017 Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker award

La Biennale di Venezia and Jaeger-LeCoultre are pleased to announce that the great English director Stephen Frears (Philomena, The Queen, Dangerous Liaisons) will receive the Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker award at the 74th Venice International Film Festival (30th August - 9th September 2017), dedicated to a personality who has made an original contribution to innovation in contemporary cinema.

Jaeger-LeCoultre has been a sponsor of the Venice International Film Festival for thirteen years in a row, and of the Glory to the Filmmaker prize for eleven years. In the past the prize has been awarded to Takeshi Kitano (2007), Abbas Kiarostami (2008), Agnès Varda (2008), Sylvester Stallone (2009), Mani Ratnam (2010), Al Pacino (2011), Spike Lee (2012), Ettore Scola (2013), James Franco (2014), Brian De Palma (2015) and Amir Naderi (2016).